A Racketeering Net Mint…
…is an anagram, says Twenty Major (over here), of Ace Internet Marketing. I couldn’t possibly comment.
I’m sorry for the delay in approving some of your comments. See, some clever kid has decided to to flood Lex Ferenda (and in particular the thread about Ace) with spam. After some response to a post of mine, they proceeded to attack the post and the site as a whole. As I hold all first-time comments for moderation, marking them for deletion took some time, and I’m very sorry if I deleted any *real* comments in the meantime.
In the meantime, I’ve received another love letter from Ace. Now, as you recall, someone purporting to speak for them (although later claiming not to be a principal) has threatened to sue me about this post. The recent missive contains a bizarre and probably unenforceable beefed-up disclaimer. In particular, I am asked not to “peruse, use, disseminate, distribute or copy” the message. (How am I supposed to read it then???)
I do not have a contract with the sender, of course, and it is a virtually worthless disclaimer. I see no grounds for an expectation of confidentiality in its contents, and indeed this is an unsolicited message with someone I have no business or private relationship with. However, recognising that this mail (as distinct from previous ones) does contain a statement that “this email is private” I will simply summarise its contents here.
A further request is made for removal of the original post (I will not comply with this request and I have responded accordingly). It is suggested that it is time to “nip this in the bud” as I have not taken their warnings. (An unusual statement that Ace Internet Marketing is not a company is also included, which would seem to be confusing).
The email also includes a question as to my motives here. I have none. I write about Internet law. Damien’s blog highlighted an interesting question of apparent disregard for IP laws. While not agreeing with all IP law (of course), I wrote about the apparent violation of copyright law. Of course, the original post has now disappeared. Admission of wrongdoing perhaps?
The footer, containing the supposed disclaimer (it has changed in every mail!), says that if I receive the message in error, I should contact legal@techstore.ie. I wonder if techstore.ie are aware of the threats.
Thanks to all the people who added comments to the original post about the libel threat and in particular those who made fun of the unusually badly spelled and punctuated threat of legal action. You may also enjoy an exchange in the comments on Damien’s blog - an anonymous person of dubious origin is criticising Damien’s reaction to the unauthorised copying of his content. I wonder who it is….
Comments
Comment from Daithí
Time: November 1, 2007, 3:44 pm
No obligation of confidentiality but just as a minor gesture towards decent ethics and respect for a request, I’m just opting not to publish at the present time, without even accepting the slightest notion of confidentiality. Obviously this is subject to review ![]()
Comment from Robert Synnott
Time: November 1, 2007, 3:59 pm
According to the CRO and Whois (assuming that they are being honest in their Whois entry, which I believe the .ie registrar is rather fussy about), they are INTERCOM TECHNOLOGY & TRAINING LIMITED. They have CRO filings and everything! Sounds like a company to me…
Pingback from Damien Mulley » Blog Archive » Daithí’s Blog gets attacked
Time: November 1, 2007, 4:07 pm
[…] or email. Thanks for visiting - Damien.In a curious turn of events, someone left a message on Daithí’s blog post about Ace Internet Marketing saying they would attack him with spam. Sure enough a spam attack ensued but he bravely weathered […]
Comment from Twenty Major
Time: November 1, 2007, 4:12 pm
Bock, you’re mad for people publishing emails. Remind me never to send you any more death threats.
Comment from Daithí
Time: November 1, 2007, 4:16 pm
Good point. Not to mention that if my comments were about “Ace Internet Marketing” and they say that AIM is not a company (legal person), that really makes the job of the imaginary company in suing me rather difficult.
The business address for Intercom Tech & Training is: UNIT 5 GLENROYAL CENTRE MAYNOOTH CO KILDARE.
The business address for Ace Internet Marketing is: Unit 4, Block F, Maynooth Business Campus, Maynooth, Co Kildare
Techstore have at various times given both addresses.
Draw your own conclusions (not that it matters!)
Comment from Simon McGarr
Time: November 1, 2007, 4:20 pm
Techstore Limited, of the same address listed for techstore.ie on Nightcourses.ie was dissolved on the 19th December 2003. Again, according to the CRO.
Ace!
Comment from Alexia
Time: November 1, 2007, 4:25 pm
Still shocked by the way this keeps unfolding.
Comment from Bock the Robber
Time: November 1, 2007, 4:27 pm
Twenty: don’t send me any more death threats.
Comment from Daithí
Time: November 1, 2007, 4:29 pm
Now that’s a disclaimer that will have you quaking in your boots ![]()
Comment from Twenty Major
Time: November 1, 2007, 4:46 pm
I can’t promise anything, Bock, but I’ll try.
Comment from Bock the Robber
Time: November 1, 2007, 5:09 pm
That’s all I can ask, Twenty. Did the insurance pay out on your house?
Pingback from Ace Internet Marketing Are a Bunch of Gobshites–Bock The Robber
Time: November 1, 2007, 5:19 pm
[…] also been threatening and spamming Daithi for reporting what happened to Mulley. They’ve also been sending him intimidatory emails and […]
Comment from Suzy
Time: November 1, 2007, 5:33 pm
Any songs in the offing Daithi?
Comment from Daithí
Time: November 1, 2007, 5:35 pm
Haven’t got the time this time, unfortunately, but I’d be happy to link to anyone else’s contributions. Knock yourself out folks
Suggestions: the classic Motorhead “Ace of Spades” or perhaps A-C-E (it’s fun to be sued by the A, A-C-E).
Pingback from Damien Mulley » Blog Archive » Mulley.net under massive (manual) spam attack
Time: November 1, 2007, 5:38 pm
[…] someone doesn’t like what I’m saying about Ace Internet Marketing and the person who attacked Daithi’s blog is now attacking this blog too. can you feel the strain on the Blacknight.ie servers? No? Neither […]
Comment from Damien Mulley
Time: November 1, 2007, 5:59 pm
Ace of Base - All that he wants is another spammy…
Shutting up now…
Comment from Spam Monkey
Time: November 1, 2007, 9:14 pm
Yo all
Is this the Tech ’store’ that ’sells’ Broadband services ‘from’ a free government website , how very very VERY ODD !
see here
Comment from neil
Time: November 2, 2007, 1:12 am
Where does Internet Law on us all going to ACE, Techstore et al’s various websites and hitting refresh many many times in an attempt to drive their bandwidth costs through the roof?
It’s shady right?
Pingback from aCE ! iNTERnet MUrKeting « derfen
Time: November 2, 2007, 5:45 am
[…] so and you do, mybe Ace ! Internets Murketing can make help for […]
Comment from Steve
Time: November 2, 2007, 11:31 am
When I visited the page:
http://www.techstore.ie/broadband-ireland/broadband.htm
…this was one of the Google Ads…
“Britney Spears up-skirt
See the Britney up-skirt no-pants photo free at Strictly Broadband ”
Not sure how Google Ads works, and haven’t drilled down into the TechStore site, but is this a comment on the website content?
Pingback from Spot the Difference: Plagiarism or Coincidence? You Decide–Bock The Robber
Time: November 2, 2007, 8:31 pm
[…] Daithi […]
Pingback from One Last Thing–Bock The Robber
Time: November 3, 2007, 10:03 pm
[…] Daithi […]
Trackback from Black & Blue - The Rise of Ace Intern…
Time: November 3, 2007, 10:20 pm
Aidan Doran Is At It Again
So I see Aidan Doran (Now involved with Ace Internet Marketing) is still alive and well *cough* and is now pissing Damien off, but then Aidan always had this habit.I bet his old Military police buddie…
Comment from Bock the Robber
Time: November 1, 2007, 3:37 pm
The Illiterate One is probably right in saying that Ace Internet Marketing isn’t a company. However, why not visit http://www.allwhois.com and enter the domain “aceinternetmarketing.ie”?
That might provide some clarification.
Furthermore, as you didn’t invite any of the emails, and have no agreement or contract with the sender, I can see no reason why you would be under any obligation whatever to keep them confidential.