Swimming with the fishies

Some of you may have come across Google’s malware warning (Warning: this site may damage your computer). It’s explained here and here.

I was interested to see that they have identified the site of Irish State agency Bord Iascaigh Mhara (Sea Fisheries Board) as such (www.bim.ie): see the image below. I’ve let BIM know about this and hopefully it’s nothing serious. Interesting to see Google’s approach in action, though.

I mentioned this before in a rambling post here. It’s great to link to Ethan Zuckerman so I’ll do it again as I did in that post: read this (still) great post. The related questions of defamation and search engine immunity are both fascinating.

Looking at the code of www.bim.ie, nothing jumps out at me as (sorry) fishy – though perhaps the techies out there might want to look too and see if they spot anything unusual? Wisdom of the crowds and all that 😉

2 thoughts on “Swimming with the fishies

  1. Some time in early/mid March 08, bim.ie was compromised and had a javascript link inserted into its pages (<script src=http://www)

    I notified them as soon as I saw it, but they certainly took no action for a couple of weeks, and did not contact me after I informed them.

    Details of the exploit can be found here http://isc.sans.org/diary.html?storyid=4139

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *